Boxes sold as large run from 12.5 to 20.3 inches. The word tells you nothing; three measurements tell you everything.
By Scooter M.Published September 19, 2026Content updated September 19, 2026Prices verified September 19, 2026How we pick
Bin & Basket earns a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. We are an Amazon Associate. We accept no free products, no sponsored placements and no paid inclusion, and commission rate plays no part in what we recommend. Full disclosure.
A bread box is typically about 15 inches long, but the size words on the listing are meaningless. Across 42 listings we measured, boxes described as *large* ran from 12.5 to 20.3 inches on their longest side, and two boxes sold as *small* were 15.7 inches - longer than two of the three sold as *extra large*. Ignore the adjective and buy on three numbers: the longest interior dimension against your loaf, the height against the gap under your wall cabinet, and the footprint against the counter you can spare.
The reference point most people are missing is the loaf itself. A standard 1 lb loaf pan bakes at 8.5 by 4.5 inches, and a large Pullman pan is 13 by 4 by 4 - so the difference between a box that works and a box that does not is often a single inch of interior length.
Start with the loaf, not the box
Bread is not published with dimensions, but the pans it is baked in are. USA Pan puts baking dimensions on its own product listings, and those figures are the honest way to size a box before you own it.
Published loaf pan baking dimensions, and what they ask of a box
Pan
Baking dimensions
What the box needs
Standard 1 lb loaf pan
8.5 x 4.5 x 2.75 in
About 9 in of interior length, and the loaf will dome above the rim
1.25 lb loaf pan
9 x 5 x 2.75 in
About 10 in of interior length
Large Pullman pan
13 x 4 x 4 in (14.25 x 4.5 x 4 in with the lid on)
At least 13 in of interior length - this is the figure that disqualifies boxes
Store-bought sandwich loaf
Not published by any baker we could cite
Measure the bag, including the gathered end and the clip
Pan figures as published by USA Pan on its product listings. A baked loaf rises above the rim of its pan, and no manufacturer publishes how far, so treat the pan as the floor rather than the finished size.
Two consequences fall straight out of that table. If you bake in a Pullman pan, a 13 inch loaf rules out roughly one box in eight before you even look at the interior - five of the 42 listings we measured were under 13 inches on the outside. And if you buy two loaves at a time, two 1 lb loaves side by side want about 9 inches across, which is more depth than several boxes have in total.
What 42 bread box listings actually measure
We pulled the listed dimensions for every bread box and bread bin listing returned by eight Amazon catalog searches on 19 September 2026. Forty-two had usable figures. Because catalogs order length, width and height inconsistently in this category, we compared each box on its longest side.
Listed exterior sizes across 42 bread box listings
Measurement
Range
What sits where
Longest side
11.5 to 20.3 in
Median about 15.25 in; 25 of 42 are 15 in or longer
Longest side under 13 in
5 of 42
Too short for a Pullman loaf on the outside figure alone
Height, 8 in or under
17 of 42
The group that fits a tight gap under a wall cabinet
Height, over 12 in
14 of 42
Mostly two-tier boxes; the tallest here is 16.1 in
Depth
6.2 to 15 in
The figure that decides how much working counter you keep
Exterior dimensions as listed in the Amazon catalog and in sellers' own listing text, retrieved through the Creators API on 19 September 2026. A snapshot of search results on one date, not a census of the market.
The size words are worse than useless. Of the listings that call a box large, the smallest is 12.5 inches long and the largest is 20.3 - a spread of nearly 8 inches under one word. Of the three that say extra large, two are 13.2 inches, which is shorter than the median box in the whole survey and shorter than two boxes sold as small at 15.7 inches. One seller lists a 15.7 inch box under the title "Small Bread Box" and a box of exactly the same length as "2-Tier Large".
Interior is the figure that counts, and almost nobody publishes it
Every box on this page publishes an exterior. Exactly one publishes an interior, and the gap between the two is the whole problem: the shell, the door, the lid mechanism and the feet all live inside the outside measurement.
The Coiesol bamboo box states both. Its exterior is about 15.75 by 9.84 by 10.24 inches and its interior is 14.95 by 9.04 by 7 inches. That is 0.8 inches of length gone, 0.8 inches of depth gone, and 3.24 inches of height gone - most of the height to the raised top shelf above the compartment. One data point is not a category rule, but it does tell you the direction and the rough scale of the loss.
Treat the exterior as an upper bound. Whatever the box says on the outside, the usable space inside is smaller, and no listing will tell you by how much.
Check any figure labeled internal. One box on this page calls 15.4 x 9.8 x 12.6 in its internal space, and that is exactly the exterior figure in the catalog. A number labeled interior is not automatically an interior.
Expect the listing to disagree with itself. The Oggi extra large is 17.5 x 7.5 x 11.5 in on the listing and 17.75 x 7.5 x 11 in in the catalog. Plan around the smaller figure in each dimension.
The three measurements, in order
Longest interior dimension against your longest loaf. Measure the loaf or the bag, add an inch for handling, and compare. If you bake Pullman loaves, you need 13 in of genuine interior and very few boxes prove they have it.
Height against the gap above the counter. Measure from the counter surface to the underside of the wall cabinet. The boxes here run from 5.2 to 15.2 in tall, so this single measurement removes a large part of the category. Whether the lid needs headroom on top of that depends on the mechanism, which is covered on best bread boxes.
Footprint against the counter you can spare. Depth ranges from 6.2 to 15 in across the survey. A 7.5 in deep box leaves you most of your counter; a 15 in deep box is occupying the full working depth of most counters permanently.
Then the loaf count. Two 1 lb loaves side by side need about 9 in across. If the box is 7.5 in deep, they cannot sit side by side at all, which is what two-tier boxes exist to solve.
The picks, by the numbers
Listed figures for the bread boxes on this page
Bread box
Listed exterior
Interior
Stated capacity
Height
Coiesol bamboo, top shelf
15.75 x 9.84 x 10.24 in
14.95 x 9.04 x 7 in
Not stated
10.24 in
Oggi steel roll-top, extra large
17.5 x 7.5 x 11.5 in
Not published
Multiple large loaves
11.5 in
HOMEKOKO double layer
15.4 x 9.8 x 12.6 in
Not published
2 loaves of 1.5 lb, 0.8 cu ft
12.6 in
RoyalHouse bamboo roll-top
15.12 x 11 x 6.8 in
Not published
2 loaves
6.8 in
HOOBRO 2-tier roll-top
15.7 x 9.8 x 15.2 in
Not published
Not stated
15.2 in
Amazon Basics steel, acacia lid
11.9 x 7.1 x 5.2 in
Not published
1 loaf
5.2 in
Exterior figures as listed by the seller or the catalog on 19 September 2026. Where the two disagreed, the listing's own text is shown. Capacity claims are the sellers' words, not our test.
#
Product
Best for
Score
Price
01
Coiesol Bamboo Bread Box with Top ShelfThe one bread box in this category we found that states what is inside it: a 14.95 by 9.04 by 7 in interior. Everyone else publishes an exterior and leaves you to guess.
Oggi Stainless Steel Roll-Top Bread Box, Extra LargeAt about 17.5 in long it is the longest steel box here, and at 7.5 in deep it is the narrowest. That combination suits a long loaf on a counter you cannot give up.
HOMEKOKO Vintage Double Layer Farmhouse Bread BoxThe only box here that states a capacity in cubic feet and in loaves - 0.8 cu ft and two standard 1.5 lb loaves - and it gets there by going up rather than out.
RoyalHouse Bamboo Roll-Top Bread Box, LargeBamboo at a fraction of the steel price, with the same roll-top mechanism and one real trade-off around humidity.
HOOBRO 2-Tier Bamboo Bread BoxGoes up instead of along, which is the right answer when the counter is full and the bread still needs somewhere to live.
Amazon Basics Carbon Steel Bread Box with Acacia Wood LidAt 11.9 by 7.1 in it takes less counter than anything else here, and the lid is a cutting board. It holds one loaf, which the listing says plainly.
Scores are our own, from the published rubric on the methodology page. They are editorial judgments about published specifications, not test results — we have not handled these units.
01
The only one that publishes an interior
Coiesol Bamboo Bread Box with Top Shelf
The one bread box in this category we found that states what is inside it: a 14.95 by 9.04 by 7 in interior. Everyone else publishes an exterior and leaves you to guess.
14.95 x 9.04 x 7 inSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Exterior
About 15.75 x 9.84 x 10.24 inSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
What the shell costs you
0.8 in of length and 3.2 in of height, comparing the two figures above
Top shelf
A raised 14.95 x 9.04 x 2.4 in shelf with front and back railsSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Door
Acrylic window door with a magnetic closure, opening at the frontSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Material
Bamboo, with rear ventsSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Weight
About 6.6 lbSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
What it gets right
The published 14.95 in interior length clears a 13 in Pullman loaf with room, which no other box here lets you confirm before buying
The raised top shelf adds storage without adding footprint
An acrylic window and rear vents, so you can see the loaf without opening it and air still moves
What it does not
The 7 in interior height is the shortest usable height of the tall boxes here - a domed sourdough will touch
The door opens at the front, so it wants clear counter in front rather than above
It ships flat and needs assembly, and bamboo takes on odors over time in a way steel does not
Who it is for
Anyone who wants to know the loaf fits before the box arrives, which in this category is a genuinely short list.
Skip this if
Your counter is shallow. At about 9.84 in deep plus a door that opens forward, it asks for more counter than the narrow steel boxes.
02
Long loaves on a shallow counter
Oggi Stainless Steel Roll-Top Bread Box, Extra Large
At about 17.5 in long it is the longest steel box here, and at 7.5 in deep it is the narrowest. That combination suits a long loaf on a counter you cannot give up.
17.5 x 7.5 x 11.5 in, per the listing. The catalog says 17.75 x 7.5 x 11 inSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Published interior
Not published by the manufacturer in a form we could verify
Lid
Roll-top, so it needs no clearance above the boxSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Material
Stainless steel with a stainless lidSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Weight
About 3.1 lbSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Warranty
90 days limited, as stated in the catalogSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
What it gets right
About 17.5 in long, the most length of any steel box here, so a 13 in Pullman fits with margin for the shell
Only 7.5 in deep, which is the least counter depth of any pick on this page
A roll-top lid, so the 11.5 in height is all it needs - nothing has to open above it
What it does not
No interior figure is published, so the margin over a long loaf is still an estimate
At 7.5 in deep, two 4.5 in loaves will not sit side by side - they go front to back or on top of each other
The listing and the catalog disagree by about a quarter inch on length and half an inch on height
Who it is for
Bakery batards and Pullman loaves in a kitchen with counter length to spare and depth to protect.
Skip this if
Your gap under the wall cabinet is under about 12 in. The lid needs no headroom, but the box itself still stands 11.5 in tall.
03
Two loaves in one footprint
HOMEKOKO Vintage Double Layer Farmhouse Bread Box
The only box here that states a capacity in cubic feet and in loaves - 0.8 cu ft and two standard 1.5 lb loaves - and it gets there by going up rather than out.
15.4 x 9.8 x 12.6 inSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Stated capacity
0.8 cubic feet, and 2 standard 1.5 lb loaves plus pastriesSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Published interior
Not published by the manufacturer in a form we could verify. The listing calls the 15.4 x 9.8 x 12.6 figure the internal space, but it matches the catalog exterior
Layout
Two layers behind a front door on metal hingesSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Clearance under the box
0.8 in elevated feetSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Material
Food-grade bamboo, flat-packedSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Weight
About 9 lbSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
What it gets right
A stated loaf count and a stated volume, which almost nothing else in the category gives you
Two layers, so two loaves stack rather than competing for the same 15.4 in of length
Elevated feet, so air reaches the underside instead of the loaf sitting on a cold counter
What it does not
The listing labels its exterior figure as the internal space, so the real interior is smaller than the number shown
At 12.6 in tall it eats most of an average gap under a wall cabinet before the door even opens
It arrives flat and needs assembling, and the front door swings into your counter space
Who it is for
A household buying two loaves at a time that has vertical room over the counter but no length to spare.
Skip this if
You want to lift bread out from above. This is a front-opening cabinet, and the top layer is reached through the door like a shelf.
04
Warmth on the counter, cheaply
RoyalHouse Bamboo Roll-Top Bread Box, Large
Bamboo at a fraction of the steel price, with the same roll-top mechanism and one real trade-off around humidity.
11.9 x 7.1 x 5.2 inSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Published interior
Not published by the manufacturer in a form we could verify
Stated capacity
One loaf of breadSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Lid
Acacia wood, lift-off, and usable as a cutting boardSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Material
Powder-coated carbon steel with ventilation holesSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
Weight
About 2.5 lbSource: Retailer catalog listing, retrieved 19 September 2026
What it gets right
The smallest footprint here at about 11.9 by 7.1 in, and only 5.2 in tall
The lid doubles as a cutting board, so the box earns its counter space twice
Ventilation holes and a wipe-clean steel shell
What it does not
At 11.9 in long on the outside it cannot take a 13 in Pullman loaf at all
The listing says one loaf, so a second loaf needs somewhere else to go
A lift-off lid needs room above to lift clear, and somewhere to put it down while you slice
Who it is for
A small kitchen, a single loaf at a time, and a counter where 12 in is all you can give.
Skip this if
You buy long artisan loaves. This is sized for a supermarket sandwich loaf and says so.
Height is where most of the category fails
Length gets the attention and height does the damage. Seventeen of the 42 boxes we measured are 8 inches tall or less, which will clear almost any gap. Fourteen are over 12 inches, and the tallest is 16.1 - that box needs more clear air above the counter than many kitchens have between the counter and the wall cabinets.
Two-tier boxes are where this bites. They solve the length problem elegantly, by stacking a second loaf rather than putting it end to end, and they do it by going up: the HOOBRO here is 15.2 inches tall. That is fine on an island or under open shelving and impossible under a low cabinet. Measure the gap first and the two-tier question answers itself.
A low box has the opposite trade. The RoyalHouse is 6.8 inches tall and 11 inches deep, so it fits almost any gap and takes more counter to do it. That is the same vertical-versus-horizontal trade that runs through pantry shelf depth and spacing - the space you free up above has to come from somewhere.
How many loaves actually fit
Loaf counts on listings are claims, not measurements, but you can check them against the pan figures. A 1 lb loaf occupies about 8.5 by 4.5 inches on its base, so two of them side by side want roughly 9 inches across plus a little air, and two of them end to end want 17 inches of length, which almost nothing here has.
One loaf and nothing else. About 12 in long and 7 in deep is enough, which is the Amazon Basics footprint, and its listing says one loaf rather than pretending otherwise.
Two loaves side by side. You want 9 to 10 in of interior depth. The RoyalHouse at 11 in deep claims two loaves and has the depth for it on paper; the Oggi at 7.5 in deep does not, whatever else it fits.
Two loaves plus the overflow. Go up, not out. A two-tier box gives a second full level in the same footprint, which is the HOMEKOKO and HOOBRO answer, at the cost of height.
A Pullman or a long batard. You need 13 in of real interior. The Coiesol is the only box here that proves it, at a published 14.95 in.
What we are not telling you
We have not handled, filled or measured any of these boxes. Every dimension here is a figure published by the seller or listed in the retailer catalog, retrieved on 19 September 2026, and the loaf pan figures are USA Pan's own published baking dimensions. Those are listing-grade sources rather than the installation manuals we cite for shelving, and each row says so.
Only one box on this page publishes an interior, so for the other five the gap between outside and inside is unknown and we have not estimated it. Loaf counts are the sellers' claims. The 42-listing survey is a snapshot of search results on one date rather than a census, and it counts color variants of the same box separately, because that is what a shopper scrolling the results sees. Prices are live from the retailer at the moment you look. The method is on how we pick.
FAQ
Questions people ask about this
What are the dimensions of a standard bread box?
There is no standard. Across 42 listings we measured, the longest side ran from 11.5 to 20.3 inches, with a median of about 15.25 inches, and heights ran from 4.7 to 16.1 inches. The useful figure is not the average but the interior length against your own loaf: a standard 1 lb loaf pan is 8.5 by 4.5 inches and a large Pullman pan is 13 by 4 by 4.
How big is a bread box?
Most are about 15 inches long, 8 to 10 inches deep and anywhere from 5 to 15 inches tall. The height is the figure that varies most, because two-tier boxes stack a second level rather than spreading sideways. A single-loaf box can be as small as 11.9 by 7.1 by 5.2 inches.
Is a large bread box actually larger?
Not reliably. Among the listings we surveyed that use the word large, the longest side ranged from 12.5 to 20.3 inches. Two of the three boxes labeled extra large were 13.2 inches long, shorter than two boxes sold as small at 15.7 inches. Buy on the inches, not the adjective.
What size bread box do I need for two loaves?
Two standard 1 lb loaves side by side need about 9 inches of interior depth, since each is around 4.5 inches wide. End to end they would need about 17 inches of length, which few boxes have, so a box that claims two loaves is usually either 10 to 11 inches deep or built with two tiers.
Will a bread box fit under my kitchen cabinets?
Measure from the counter surface to the underside of the wall cabinet before you shop. Seventeen of the 42 boxes we measured are 8 inches tall or less and will clear most gaps; 14 are over 12 inches tall and many will not. A roll-top lid needs no clearance above the box, while a hinged or lift-off lid needs its own height again.
Do bread boxes publish interior dimensions?
Almost none do. Of the boxes on this page, one publishes an interior: 14.95 by 9.04 by 7 inches inside an exterior of 15.75 by 9.84 by 10.24. Watch for listings that label an interior figure that is identical to the exterior in the catalog, which is a sign the number is the outside measurement.
What size bread box do I need for sourdough or a Pullman loaf?
At least 13 inches of genuine interior length for a Pullman, since the large Pullman pan bakes at 13 by 4 by 4 inches. A round sourdough is the opposite problem: it is short but tall and domed, so check interior height rather than length. Very few boxes publish either figure, which is why a published interior is worth paying for.
Sources
Where these figures come from
Bread box dimensions, as listed in the retailer catalogExterior dimensions, materials and the few published interior figures for each bread box, taken from the Amazon catalog and the sellers' own listing text, retrieved through the Creators API on 19 September 2026. These are listing figures rather than manufacturer documents, and they are labeled that way on every row. Where a listing's own text and the catalog disagree, both numbers are given.
Size survey of 42 bread box listings, 19 September 2026Listed exterior dimensions for the 42 bread box listings with usable figures returned by eight Amazon catalog searches for bread box and bread bin terms, retrieved through the Creators API. The longest side of each box is used for comparison, because catalogs order length, width and height inconsistently. Size words are counted where the word appears in the listing title or the size attribute. A snapshot of search results on one date, not a census of the market.
USA Pan, published loaf pan baking dimensionsBaking dimensions for the standard 1 lb pan (8.5 x 4.5 x 2.75 in), the 1.25 lb pan (9 x 5 x 2.75 in) and the large Pullman pan (13 x 4 x 4 in, and 14.25 x 4.5 x 4 in with the lid on), as published by USA Pan on its own product listings. Used here as the reference for how much room a homemade loaf needs.
Availability check, 19 September 2026Every bread box on this page was resolved through the Amazon Creators catalog on that date and carried a New buy-box offer at the time of writing.
What is not a source hereWe have not handled these products. Nothing on this page is a test result, and no figure comes from a retailer listing, another publisher, or memory.